Sailing

I used to call it surfing…but I think sailing is a much better word for what we do. There are coined terms for it – this “sub-space” or “trance-state” I fall into, but we’ve tried to fit into stereotypes before and were left wanting. So as with everything we do, I’ve made this term my own – and this is how I see it:

When you take me, Sir – and take you do – it is so much more intricate than guiding through water on my own. Surfing, while requiring skill, is a solo venture. And even if I committed myself to the art, I know could never reach the places you take me when I step into the water with you.

You lead me through nuances and motions that only you can see. You know when to bear away or beat to the wind, how to guide and – you’ll love this one – how to luff. I think you know that one too well, Sir, and as the master of your vessel you get so very close to the wind…so close that the sail begins to flap again and again and again until suddenly I am right there with you. I can see the wave cresting ahead and I fight with all of my strength to turn but you are my captain and your hand is on the lee helm and YOU KNOW ME, Sir. You know exactly where you are taking me and you press on with patience and persistence to deliver me into the wind…….

and then…

I am adrift.

One thought on “Sailing

  1. Oh Luv, what did I ever do to deserve you. You are so open to me. You paint the picture as if I have the power but in reality I am powerless and would die if I was deprived of you.

    It is like sailing close to the wind. I may take the helm but I can still only go where the wind lets me. You are the wind because when we touch you are the only thing that exists in the world.

Leave a comment